PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
Outbyte PC Repair · freeA free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.
Run a Free PC Scan →ThatPainter is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More
The Washington, D.C., area’s two major annual craft exhibitions are the spring Smithsonian Craft Show and fall Smithsonian Craft2Wear. Holiday markets in Downtown D.C., Dupont Circle, Del Ray and Alexandria add lower-cost, neighborhood-focused shopping later in the year. Choose the Smithsonian Craft Show for the widest range of fine craft, Craft2Wear for jewelry and clothing, and holiday markets for local gifts and seasonal browsing.
Smithsonian Craft Show: the broad spring showcase
The 44th annual Smithsonian Craft Show took place April 22–26, 2026, at the National Building Museum, 401 F Street NW, Washington, D.C. The exhibition presented 120 American artists selected by expert jurors.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Its scope included basketry, ceramics, decorative fiber, furniture, glass, jewelry, leather, metal, mixed media, paper, wearable art and wood. That breadth makes it the area’s strongest single destination for comparing disciplines, including functional and sculptural work.
2026 public hours and admission
- Public hours: April 23–25, 2026, from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; April 26, 2026, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
- Admission: $25, with group pricing available.
- Location: National Building Museum, 401 F Street NW, Washington, D.C.
April 22 was part of the show period, while the published public schedule began April 23. Check the Smithsonian’s current listing before making plans for a future edition, since dates, hours and ticket terms can change.
#1 Best Overall
Smithsonian Craft2Wear: the fall choice for wearable art
Craft2Wear ran September 25–27, 2026, at the Arts and Industries Building. The show featured more than 75 artists from across the United States and concentrated on handcrafted jewelry, accessories and clothing.
Compared with the spring show’s cross-disciplinary format, Craft2Wear is the more efficient choice when your priority is a wearable piece. It is also a useful stop for collectors looking specifically for contemporary jewelry or accessories rather than furniture, ceramics or woodwork.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Rank #2
Holiday craft and maker markets near D.C.
A 2025 Axios guide identified recurring holiday markets in Downtown D.C., Dupont Circle, Del Ray and Alexandria. These events generally work differently from the Smithsonian shows: they emphasize local makers, seasonal gifts and casual neighborhood shopping rather than a single juried fine-craft exhibition.
Downtown D.C.
Downtown markets are the most convenient option for shoppers already visiting central Washington. The 2025 guide listed a recurring holiday market, but 2026 dates, hours, admission and vendor lists require confirmation from the organizer.
Rank #3
- Contains listings for 225 species which are grouped by order
- Includes range maps and an index of scientific names
- 160 pages book, paperback
Dupont Circle
Dupont Circle’s recurring holiday market is another central option for browsing gifts and locally made work. Treat the 2025 listing as a reference point only; verify the 2026 event details before traveling.
Del Ray
Del Ray’s market was described as a rotating weekend event with jewelry, candles, ceramics and other local work. Its rotating format can suit shoppers who prefer smaller, repeat neighborhood events, but the specific 2026 weekends and participating vendors were not established.
Recommended Free Tools
Alexandria
The Alexandria holiday event was described as featuring 110+ artisans and small businesses. That scale makes it one of the larger regional options for gift shopping. The figure comes from the 2025 description; confirm whether the 2026 edition uses the same format, size, dates or pricing.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- ELIMINATE MEASURING HASSLE: Achieve perfectly even borders and mats without ever picking up a ruler. Simply place the guide against your paper edge for instant, precise layering.
- 7 VERSATILE SIZES: This comprehensive set includes 7 different spacing increments: 1/16", 1/8", 3/16", 1/4", 5/16", 3/8", and 1/2" to suit any design style from delicate to dramatic.
- COLOR-CODED WITH SIZE TABS: Each guide features a unique color and a raised handle with the size clearly labeled. Quickly identify and grab the exact tool you need for a faster, more efficient workflow.
- STAY ORGANIZED WITH STORAGE CASE: Includes a custom-fit, protective hardshell case to keep your guides nested and secure. Perfect for maintaining a tidy craft room or for on-the-go crafting.
- MUST-HAVE CRAFTING TOOL: An essential accessory for card making, scrapbooking, junk journaling, and DIY paper crafts. Perfect for creating professional-looking layered mats on any project.
How the major D.C.-area shows compare
| Event | Season and 2026 date | Location | Focus | Scale or curation | Admission information | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smithsonian Craft Show | Spring; April 22–26, 2026 (public hours April 23–26) | National Building Museum, Washington, D.C. | Broad fine craft across 12 listed disciplines | 120 American artists, expert-juried | $25; group pricing available | Collectors seeking the widest range of American craft |
| Smithsonian Craft2Wear | Fall; September 25–27, 2026 | Arts and Industries Building | Jewelry, accessories and clothing | More than 75 U.S. artists | Not stated in the available 2026 information | Wearable-art and jewelry shoppers |
| Downtown D.C. holiday market | Holiday season; 2026 details not stated | Downtown Washington, D.C. | Seasonal gifts and local makers | Not stated | 2026 details not stated | Central-city convenience |
| Dupont Circle holiday market | Holiday season; 2026 details not stated | Dupont Circle | Seasonal gifts and local makers | Not stated | 2026 details not stated | Neighborhood browsing in Northwest D.C. |
| Del Ray market | Rotating weekends; 2026 details not stated | Del Ray, Alexandria | Jewelry, candles, ceramics and other local work | Rotating vendor format | 2026 details not stated | Smaller-scale local shopping |
| Alexandria holiday event | Holiday season; 2026 details not stated | Alexandria | Seasonal gifts and maker goods | 110+ artisans and small businesses in the 2025 description | 2026 details not stated | Large holiday vendor selection |
Which show fits your shopping goal?
- Jewelry: Start with Craft2Wear for its dedicated wearable-art focus; the Smithsonian Craft Show also offers jewelry alongside other media.
- Ceramics: The Smithsonian Craft Show is the clearest large-scale choice because ceramics are one of its named disciplines. Del Ray is a more local holiday alternative.
- Wearable art: Craft2Wear is the specialist event for clothing, accessories and jewelry.
- Broad collecting: Choose the Smithsonian Craft Show to compare work across furniture, glass, metal, paper, wood and other categories in one juried exhibition.
- Seasonal gifts: Look to the holiday markets, especially Alexandria for the largest stated vendor count and Del Ray for a rotating neighborhood format.
Planning advice for future editions
- Use the Smithsonian Craft Show’s spring schedule and Craft2Wear’s fall schedule as the dependable annual anchors.
- Check the official Smithsonian event page for the current year’s dates, public hours, ticketing and venue instructions.
- For Downtown D.C., Dupont Circle, Del Ray and Alexandria markets, confirm the organizer’s 2026 announcement before relying on a 2025 listing.
- Match the event to your priority: broad media at the spring show, wearable work at Craft2Wear, or seasonal local shopping at neighborhood markets.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




